High School Sports: Four Fulton Wrestling Hall of Fame Inductees | Oswego County

FULTON – The Fulton Wrestling Hall of Fame dedicated the Class of 2020 at the third annual induction ceremony on May 22 at Chubby’s Bar and Grill in Fulton.

The most recent consecrated members were Dawson Hayden, Matt Bogardus, Bob Farfaglia and Wayne Bleau.

Hayden was the first Section 3 champion for the Red Raiders and was the first to complete the program after finishing second in 1964.

Farfaglia took third place in the 1969 sections and won the most matches of any Fulton wrestler during the 1960s, and was also the first and longest-serving coach of the Fulton Wrestling Club.

Bleau served as the transformative coach for the program from 1974 to 1987, guiding two crown title teams during his tenure.

Matt Bogardus ranks third for career wins in program history at 172 and holds the record for most wins in a single season at 49. The 2008 graduate has won various Section 3 and Empire titles. State Games and ranked in the State Tournament.

Each new member was introduced by a special guest inductor, and varsity head coach Jeffrey Waldron served as emcee. Hall of Fame speeches were preceded by a social hour and followed by a prime rib dinner.

The Fulton Wrestling Hall of Fame was established in 2018 and held its first two dedication ceremonies in November. The event for the Class of 2020 has been postponed from last fall due to concerns about COVID-19.

The Class of 2018 included Greg Stevens, Randy Gillette, Ron LaBeef and Tim Moore. The 2019 class consisted of Rick Pawlewicz, John Noel, Mike Kitts and Mike Conners.

As an Amazon Associate, I earn Qualifying Purchases.

Source link

About Rachel Gooch

Check Also

A high school student from Badger designs a fresco for the church on Lake Geneva | Local news

A church on Lake Geneva has a new work of art to display to the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *